California DUI School

classroomGoing to a California DUI school may be in your future if you have been charged with driving under the influence (DUI) in California. Actually you may be facing a wide array of potential consequences. Depending on the particular circumstances of your individual case and the prosecutor and judge involved, you may be sentenced to fines, suspension of your driver’s license, installation of an ignition interlock device on your vehicle, probation, or even jail time. One consequence of which people are often not aware is that many offenders may be required to complete a drug and alcohol educational and counseling program.

While taking drug and alcohol awareness classes may not seem like an intimidating penalty, programs can be costly and inconvenient. First, you must sign up with a program provider that has been approved by the state of California. Second, the most basic classes can cost between $500 and $600, and the cost may dramatically increase for more extensive programs.

Which California DUI school program will you have to complete?

There are several levels of programs offered by California providers, and the court will require you to complete a certain level based on your blood alcohol content (BAC) at the time of your arrest and whether you have previous DUI convictions on your record within the past ten years. The following are examples of different levels of alcohol and drug education programs for offenders:

  •         Wet Reckless—If you were convicted of a “wet reckless” offense, which is considered a lesser offense than a DUI, you will likely have to attend the most basic, 12-hour long DUI program.
  •         First Offender—If this is your first DUI offense in ten years and your BAC was under 0.20%, you will have to complete a program that includes 30 hours of counseling over three months. If your BAC was over 0.20% on your first offense, you must attend 60 hours of classes over a nine month period of time.
  •         Second or Subsequent Offenders—If you have one or more prior DUI convictions on your record in the past ten years, you will have to attend a DUI program that lasts for 18 months. This program will include individual counseling sessions and interviews, at least 52 hours spent in group counseling sessions, 12 hours spent in educational classes, and six hours of community reentry observation.
  •         Third or Subsequent Offenders—The following counties in California provide extended programs for offenders who have three or more DUI convictions on their records: Butte, Los Angeles, Plumas, San Joaquin, and Stanislaus. If you receive your third or subsequent conviction in any of these counties, you will likely be required to complete a program that lasts for 30 months and includes individual counseling sessions, 120-300 hours of mandated community service, 78 hours spent in group counseling sessions, and 12 hours of educational classes.

As you can see, these DUI educational programs may impose long-lasting requirements on your time and life, and may cost you a lot of money. Additionally, if you do not have a license, you will have to find a way to get to these classes.

An experienced DUI attorney can help limit or eliminate the consequences you face. If you have been arrested for DUI in Lake County, Sonoma County, or Mendocino County California, call Beck Law, P.C. for help today.

Disclaimer

The information on this website should not be considered to be legal advice, nor construed to be the formation of any manner of attorney client relationship. Prior to taking any form of legal action, please consult with an attorney experienced in the appropriate area of law germane to your situation. Case results and any blogs, reviews, news or testimonials presented on www.duibecklaw.com or any of its related websites are germane to the facts present for each individual case and is not a promise of similar outcomes for any other cases. This website is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the State of California. by Attorney Daniel B. Beck